wendylbolm

Should I stay or should I go now?

In Uncategorized on December 16, 2007 at 1:45 am

Tampa Bay skyline

I spent the beginning of my day picking out an Oriental area rug for my gay, leather-clad, drag queen friend with my heterosexual life-mate. After that, we gorged ourselves on a giant Chinese buffet that includes a pretty good selection of sushi. Where else am I going to have such an interesting and fun day?

Part of me wants nothing more than to stay in Tampa, where I’m close to friends and family. Part of me wants to send my resume out to the rest of the world.

I do have requirements for where I end up. I’d like to be at least close enough to a big city to drive there without killing my car. I’d like there to be a diverse climate, full of poor folks, folks of different cultures and races, goth folks, GLBT folks, and all sorts of folks in between. If I have to move, I’d like to move somewhere where the seasons change. And, I’d like there to be a populace active in local government.

I have some ideas of cities I’d like to be close to, if I move. They are:

Boston
New York
The Twin Cities
New Orleans
Seattle

And, here’s my plan of attack:
-Send out resumes to my top tier choices and people who have shown an interest in my career, starting with those closest to me. These resumes will go to newspapers and magazines I read all the time, i.e. the organizations I’d like to work at the most. I’m going to send thank you notes thanking the specific people (if possible) for taking an interest.
-Send out resumes to newspapers and magazines in cities I’d like to live in, after doing research about the specific organizations.
-Send out resumes to newspapers in small towns near where I would like to work, after doing research on the specific paper.

I think it’s a good plan of attack; if there’s more I can do, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

