wendylbolm

2007 in review

In Awesomeness, College Goals, Uncategorized on December 31, 2007 at 10:54 pm

This was an awesome year for me. I think I did a good job of kicking off my career BEFORE I graduated. Here’s what I accomplished:

Online presence:
I wrote articles and columns for Mookychick.
I converted my Myspace into a writer’s Myspace.
I started logging onto Facebook again.
I joined LinkedIn.
I started my own blog, which spawned another, a writing gig for 451 Press and a contributing gig for Sticks of Fire.
I have multimedia projects up on TBO.
I built my first Web site, from templates (I’m going to change it into a writer’s Web site this semester).
I uploaded video onto YouTube and used them in blogs.
I learned some basic HTML.

Print:
I finished an internship at Creative Loafing.
I started and finished an internship at Tampa Bay Illustrated.
I wrote book reviews and interned for The Tampa Tribune.

Classes:
I took a magazine feature writing course, a blog and column course, a public affairs writing course that focused on public documents, and a course that gave me more clips from The Trib. I also registered and will be attending a graduate level course before I get my bachelor’s degree.

Creative writing:
I submitted short stories and features to magazines and proudly displayed the rejection letters.
I finished the first draft of my first novel.

What I wish I had done:
I wish I’d saved more money, and I wish I’d figured out a way to travel abroad. I doubt I’ll be able to go on the Ireland trip, but I can always hope. I’d like to go to Chicago for the alt-writing internship.

  1. Congrats on all your accomplishments. Your bulletin on Myspace led me here, so I thought I’d comment. It’s always nice to know other local writers 🙂

  2. Hi, I was impressed by your accomplishments! I would like to accomlish as much things as you one day. I was just wondering how you got these positions.I am interested in starting in my first internship somewhere, but unfortunately I am only in my second year of college at USF and most internships say that they require us to atleast be a junior standing. It would be great if you can email me back.

    Thanks for your time =]

Leave a Reply

