wendylbolm

MSNBC’s year in review, via pictures

In Uncategorized on January 3, 2008 at 12:30 am

I see why local newspaper sites can’t compete with online news organizations.

MSNBC’s “Year in pictures” was amazing. It’s just some audio and pictures strung together, but it’s one of those presentations that grips at the heartstrings.

It’s too bad local newspapers haven’t come up with similar innovative ideas for local coverage. If anyone knows of a local paper that has, please let me know. I’d like to see it.

I found MSNBC’s multimedia presentation originally at Teaching Online Journalism, a blog that was recommended to me last semester by a few of my professors. I have to say I’ve been impressed with what I’ve seen so far. Almost makes me wish I’d gone to one of my school’s rivals or one or more of my professors would raise the bar.

  1. Whoa!
    1. To compare MSNBC with an individual newspaper outside the top 20 markets is comparing apples and oranges.
    2. Every local newspaper of 20M circulation or more has come up with innovative ideas. If you can’t find them, you aren’t looking. Here’s the best http://www.roanoke.com/multimedia/video/wb/145205
    3. I agree, your professors need to raise the bar.
    Here’s a lens I put together that hasn’t been updated in a while, but it has a ton of links to blogs and videos done by newspapers:
    http://www.squidoo.com/newspaper
    Good luck. Enjoy.

  2. Unfortunately, local papers do try to compete with national news, in a way. I’ve seen tons of AP articles dumped onto Web sites for the sake of “national news coverage.”

    And, thank you for the links! That’s exactly what I wanted. I wish Dan Beatty would expand on experiential journalism, though.

Leave a Reply

