wendylbolm

Burned by The Simpsons

In Uncategorized on January 7, 2008 at 1:29 am

In the election episode tonight, a Washington Post print reporter is covering the Springfield political festivities, competing against a sea of journalists that includes John Stewart and online reporters from the likes of Slate.com.

Since I saw the scene literally a few minutes ago, I’m hoping I get these quotes dead-on; if not, here’s a very close facsimile:

Nelson (to the Washington Post reporter): Haha, your medium is dying.

Principal Skinner: Nelson, there’s being right and being nice.

 

Even The Simpsons is making fun of the old guard of media.

If that’s not reason enough to change, I hope the declining stock shares, tumbleweed infested newsrooms and a distrusting, stimulation hungry audience provide the news media with a much-needed catalyst.

  1. Wendy – Glad I wasn’t the only one to catch that. I actually hit rewind to make sure I heard it right. Way to jump on it and blog it!

  2. Thanks. Unfortunately, I have basic non-digital cable, so I can’t rewind. That might bite me in the ass during my graduate-level course this semester; the professor recommends we have TiVo. I’m too poor to pay big money for a service I’ll only use an hour a day to watch the news.

Leave a Reply

