wendylbolm

Tips for beginning journalists

In Uncategorized on January 11, 2008 at 2:54 am

Having some web design skills is very important in this day and age, yet Jschools haven’t quite figured this out yet.

I’m taking a graduate level course to learn Flash and video and audio editing.

This means, as students, we have to take matters into our own hands. Whining about what our schools did and didn’t teach aren’t going to help us get jobs, especially not in today’s job climate.

So, here are three great locations for those of us who are scrambling to learn these skills all by our lonesome.

Head First Labs with CSS & XHTML

I love books. Therefore, it’s common sense that I chose a book to teach myself HTML with. It has exercises and presents info into an easy-to-understand format. This book is actually for another class at my college; I yanked it from that class’s book section and bought it myself after browsing through it. I’ve learned more from this book in the past month than I learned from internet sites in the past six.

W3 Schools

Some people work better with web tutorials. This site is for them.

W3 Schools offers online examples users can cut and paste and test themselves. It’s also more extensive than Head First and free. My friend Charlie swears by it.

Smashing Magazine

I stumbled upon this Web site a while ago and automatically subscribed to its feed. To me it’s THE ultimate online design guide for people who already have some web design skills. Most of it’s over my head, but I’ve been known to scroll through the archives as I build my web toolbox. The more I learn, the more I remember things I’ve read in Smashing, and the more I can use to improve my work.

Another plus: they go all out on the holidays, providing readers with links to holiday-themed wallpapers, icons and more.

If there are any more suggestions, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

