wendylbolm

Why I hate Facebook

In Uncategorized on March 15, 2008 at 2:34 am

I was going to write an intriguing post about today’s Dr. Phil show, because I was sick and ended up watching it at my mom’s house. (I’ll get to Dr. Phil after tonight’s post.)

Instead, I’m going to write about why I hate Facebook. One word: Apps.

The applications aren’t addictive. They’re annoying and taking up space in my notifications. I spend more time blocking other people’s useless apps than I do talking to people on Facebook.

People want me to get a superwall. They want me to take quizzes. They want me to cuddle and fluff (?!?) them. And, in virally passing on all of these viral horrors, they’ve made a site that could be useful to me in some ways into a nightmare to deal with.

I think, at this point, I have Facebook because Wayne Garcia added me on it, and Wayne Garcia is an awesome journo-columnist I’ve been reading for a very long time in one form or another. Every time I take a couple steps forward out of my Facebook rage, I end up getting pushed back and hating it all the more. I guess I’m through with my Facebook rant for tonight. If anyone actually uses it for useful purposes, please let me know.

Now, on to Dr. Phil. The show was a “breaking news” episode, showing off Dr. Phil’s knowledge of current events. Except, the show revolved around a news story I first saw on Channel 10 (disclosure, I’m now freelancing for a new website that is affiliated with 10; it will launch in a couple of months). The original newscast I saw made me scream at the TV “That’s not news. That’s two entitled girls who think they’re a lot prettier than they actually are complaining because they didn’t have everything they wanted handed to them on a silver platter.)

This is what happened. Two girls board a plane. They aren’t served water when they want it. One girl gets into a heated argument with a man over the bathroom and is told that she could get kicked off for her behavior. The two girls are then kicked off the plane and stranded in L.A. They then send emails to news outlets about how Southwest discriminated against them for being too pretty.

I felt sorry for Dr. Phil. I felt even more sorry for him when his last guest was a boy who started a no cussing club at his school.

Should I be happy the news is supposedly so slow, or outraged this was the best they could come up with for breaking news? I liked Dr. Phil better when he covered average middle-aged women with normal problems. I’m sure he’s already trying to get the toilet seat lady on his show for the next breaking news episode.

  1. Ugh.. Facebook.

    When is the Dummies for Facebook coming out? Because at this point I’m going to need one to get all around what apps do what and for who and why. I’ve got friends on there I don’t know. I get messages that I’ve been attacked by vampires? Its turned more into a game of “Tag” with this new app site. More annoying than entertaining. Journaling gets lost in all the flotsom and jetsom of who took what quiz and what kind of stuff are they collecting.

    As for Dr. Phil… overdone and running out of anything new to add to an already overly analyzed society.

    I’d rather watch Gilligan’s Island reruns.

Leave a Reply

