wendylbolm

The dangers of RSS feeds

In Uncategorized on April 16, 2008 at 10:57 pm

I think my self-imposed exile from blogging is finally over. I only have one week of classes left, and I’ve finished most of my final projects.

Today I’d like to talk about RSS feeds. They’re great. I’m a big fan, and I think I’ve managed to sell most of my schoolmates on to the joys of Google Reader, which is what I use. However, I have one problem with online news readers.

I subscribe to so many feeds that, after a few days of inattentiveness, I usually end up with over 1,000 entries. It’s even worse I count in all of the subscriptions I have of people who blog the RSS feeds they read. At this moment, I have no idea how many entries are waiting for me, because I haven’t logged into my reader in weeks. I do know that it’s 1,000+, because that’s what my reader says.

I’m thinking somewhere around 10,000 entries, and I’m going to delete most of them without reading them. Does anyone have a better way of managing feeds?

Leave a Reply

