wendylbolm

Why the press should pay attention to Dr. Horrible

In Awesomeness on July 19, 2008 at 9:13 pm

There’s one day left. One day left to watch Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog for free. At midnight, July 20, the streaming miniseries will be gone.

So, why should the media care about a fictional singing supervillian doing his laundry and writing blogs? Because, this experiment in broadcast proves how popular some innovations can be.

Consider this: I can watch these free episodes as many times as I want, as long as the site doesn’t crash or my internet doesn’t lag. However, there are also iTune downloads available for a couple dollars each. Being a huge Whedon fan, I had a couple of choices. I could watch the show for free until Sunday then buy the DVD when it comes out. I could, of course, watch the show for free and then never see it again. Or, I could buy the downloads from iTunes and have them to watch whenever I like and keep them after the free viewing period.

Instead, I chose a fourth option. I watched the episodes for free, downloaded them for $2 each, and I plan on buying the DVD when it comes out.

Why? I love Joss Whedon. I love that he gave me choices in how I consume his content. I love that he gets this age. Instead of hemming and hawing about how he might lose money, about how he needed to get a range of opinions and advice before he started, about how the quality of his product would go down if he created something for the web, he did it and was successful. And, yet, all of the papers and studios mired in the old way of doing things are going to continue to spin around in circles until they all fall down.

Whedon even makes it painless to find graphics and other resources for people like us to post content in our own blogs about Dr. Horrible’s blog. Of all the director’s I’ve ever been a fan of, Whedon has always been the most fan friendly, using the internet and anything else available to get fans involved in his shows. (I still have prizes I won for participating in the Browncoats when his movie Serenity came out. Years later, and there’s a still an online community rallying around the film and keeping each other updated on news and events.) Why can’t we do this with our own brands?

After reading the post about the musical episodes on Changing Way, I decided to add my own two cents.

  1. Thanks for the link, and congrats on the Browncoat prizes!

Leave a Reply

