wendylbolm

R.I.P. Me

In Life Goals on July 26, 2010 at 1:22 am

I watched an episode of Nip/Tuck today that got me thinking. In it, one of the characters writes his own obituary. He describes it as a “motivational thing.” So, I decided to write my obituary. And, I think it was really good for me.

So, I recommend YOU write your obituary!

I’m not going to post what I wrote. But, recently, I decided to make yet another life change. My certification program for teaching is being cut. Teachers around her are being laid off. I decided that, instead of doing what I thought I should do, I should actually follow my dreams. Changing your life mid-stride is kind of hard, but I think I’m well on my way towards getting back on track. And, the obituary writing helped me see where my life could go.

I wrote down the awards I would like to receive and the career I would like to have (professional writer). I wrote down my new MA goal as if I’d achieved it in the next few years (I am now working towards a Professional Writing MA). I wrote down my survivors, assuming I eventually raise two daughters. Just in case, because I’m still on the wall as to whether or not I’d like to ever have kids. I wrote down the type of books and articles I would like to write and finished it all up with a lifetime’s worth of philanthropy and volunteerism. It was a pretty good life.

One day, I may go through my journal and compare my actual accomplishments with those I wrote down earlier today. It will be interesting to see how they line up.

Leave a Reply

