wendylbolm

Hi, I’m Wendy, and I’m a bookaholic…

In The Writing Life on December 26, 2010 at 5:10 am

I keep telling people that I am addicted to books, and I think this is mostly true. I have a writing group that meets at Barnes and Noble once a week, and I usually leave with a book. My synagogue keeps holding book sales. I usually limit myself to $10, which means I leave with between 5-10 books. My apartment complex has a lending library. On the rare occasions I end up with a book I don’t want, I exchange it with a volume from that library. The university departments and library have had a couple of book sales since I started attending classes at UNO. During the last sale, I limited myself to two books. I also need to buy books for classes, and since I’m working towards a master’s in English (professional writing) my classes sometimes assign 10 or 11 books.

The above picture was taken in September. This picture was taken a few minutes ago. It does not taken into account my old teaching textbooks, the books I have on the coffee table, the books I have in the bathroom, or the books that are lying by my bed. There are also a couple of books shoved into a cabinet under my television. After I finish this post, I plan on (hopefully) finishing China Mieville’s Perdido Street Station. Pretty soon, at this rate, I will have to buy a new bookshelf. However, I am worried about the fact that this is the first time in my life where I own at least 10 books I have not yet read. This is not the kind of trend I would like to set for myself.

  1. I think I should take some photos in solidarity.

    It is impossible for me not to buy books, even though I am drowning in them.

  2. Digital is a good way to both consolidate books and get some cheaper.

Leave a Reply

