wendylbolm

How do individuals prepare for a government shutdown?

In Uncategorized on April 6, 2011 at 4:51 am

I was just reading in the New York Times about a possible government shutdown. I think it would cause a lot of harm to the country, but I know it might have an effect on my life if it goes through.

For example, I still do not have a passport. In the last government shutdown, passport applications were pushed to the side. It would suck if, for the first time in my life, I had enough money to travel but couldn’t because of a shutdown backing up my (theoretical) application.

The IRS might stop issuing refund checks. That doesn’t actually impact my life (although it might, because I’m waiting for an ex to send me a check for his half of our divorce; he’s waiting on his refund) though it will throw a cog in the works for the millions (I’m guessing) of Americans who haven’t filed their taxes or are waiting for their money.

This is also the time of the year when millions of college students are filling out their FAFSAs. In the past, shutdowns haven’t lasted very long. But, what kind of backup would this cause in the Department of Education?

A shutdown wouldn’t be apocalyptic, but since the U.S. is still recovering from the economic battering it’s been taking in the past few years, I don’t think it’s a good move. I’m hoping the polarization of our politics starts petering out soon.

Leave a Reply

