wendylbolm

Unexpected summer vacation

In Awesomeness, Judaism on July 13, 2011 at 10:45 pm

I am very excited about this August. In about three weeks, I will be on an airplane to Boston, where I will get to spend time with a good friend (and old crush). Then, I will take a commuter train (FIRST TRAIN RIDE!!!!!) to New Hampshire, where I will spend a week at a Jewish learning and community building institute put on by the National Havurah Committee. Then, I will either grab a ride back or take the commuter train back to Boston, where I will spend another night and then fly back to New Orleans on August 8. I think it will be a lot like the summer camp I went to (Camp Anytown, a camp that teaches teenagers about diversity and leadership) in high school.

This is the first vacationy type trip I’ve taken in years; visiting my mother doesn’t count, because there’s a lot of stress involved in visiting my family or having them visit me here.

What’s even more exciting is that I got my acceptance for an institute fellowship in my inbox yesterday. I asked my rabbi for a loan to cover travel costs and some expenses, and tomorrow I’m buying my plane ticket! The institute theme is peace, so I’m hoping I can bring back some programming and inclusion ideas when I come home.

Leave a Reply

